Skip to content

what I need when I need to move

May 28, 2009

suckers_jpg_595x325_crop_upscale_q85

Today is one of those days when really, nothing I have planned to happen has actually followed through. I view myself as a “planned spontaneous” person, which really means I’m up for anything at any moment as long as it is worked out in someone’s head (preferably mine). But today, every plan that I have made for the next fifteen minutes really hasn’t worked out. This is no one’s fault; and because of that, it seems to make it worse somehow. Fortunately the day is only half way done. There are still hours ahead of me that will turn things around. I’m not in a bad mood… I’m just in a “funk”. Normally the best way to alleviate this funk is through a song that is begging my soul to counter what it is really trying to do. And I have it: the song. 

I love NPR’s All Songs Considered and since my house is about thirty minutes away from town, the podcasts are just the right amount of time. You can check out the ASC blog by clicking on the link to the right. One of the editions featured a band named Suckers that is just getting started. They have a four song EP out right now and after listening to it, I’m really curious to hear a full length album. Bob Boilen describe this band as “musical soul-mates of MGMT and Yeasayer”—both of which are excellent. Upon hearing this my ear perked up a bit and I was not disappointed in the result. Suckers song It Gets Your Body Movin’ might not actually move your body in the way that you would expect. With a title such as this, my first impression is something that would possibly be on a Jurassic 5 playlist. But, it does move your soul. The three-four count drives you to grab someone and dance the most wonderful and powerful slow dance that has ever been waltzed with distorted guitars, horns, whistling, and a chorus of vocals approaching their limits while still retaining their rich quality. This song is more for the soul than the body, and on a day like today, that’s exactly what I need.

Why I sing…

One Comment leave one →
  1. Nathan Lee permalink
    May 29, 2009 8:11 pm

    This song inspired me to stand up on my bed and spin around.

Leave a Reply

