Skip to content

Spring Time and Bicycles

April 16, 2009

Ahhhh…. Spring. I love spring time. The trees turn green again, the flowers bloom, lighter weight clothing becomes a must and the weather is perfect for bicycles. Though I do not currently own a bicycle, I still really enjoy a good ride. I have never used one for exercise—only recreation. When I studied in Italy for a semester I rented and rode a cruiser all over Luca. When I was growing up with neighbors around me with similar ages, we would ride bikes through the woods across the road. And someday, I will ride a bike through the French countryside dressed in Gatsby’s finest clothing while listening to this song: Au Cafe de la Paix, by Thomas Fersen. 

I’ve been waiting for spring for a while now so that I could show off this tune. It’s classy, chic and cultured. The first time I heard it I couldn’t help but picturing myself riding a bicycle while listening to it. Since that first fantasy, the daydreams just continued to grow. Sadly, I do not own anything else by Fersen, but I have been told that the rest of his catalog is just as good as Au Cafe de la Paix. But, whether or not you like bicycles, perhaps you will still enjoy this song. 

Why I sing…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Cash Money Kyle permalink
    April 18, 2009 6:45 pm

    Nice little ditty. I like the pace. Megan was sitting next to me while I was bobbing my head, moving my toes back and forth, and smiling. She said, “Kyle you know how I know you’re gay… you want to ride bikes through the countryside with Nicholas May, listening to Au Cafe de la Paix.”

    What does she know anyway?

    • April 19, 2009 2:05 pm

      I know Megan. And I can confidently answer that by saying she knows nothing. She probably doesn’t even like bicycles.

Leave a Reply

